Burn the Evidence: (The Detective Solomon Gray Series Book 2) by Keith Nixon – Review

Title – Burn the Evidence: (The Detective Solomon Gray Series Book 2)
Author – Keith Nixon
Genre – Crime Fiction
Length – 229 Pages
Publication – 12th December 2017
My Rating – 5/5 Stars


Keith Nixon’s latest Solomon Gray murder mystery pushes all the hot button issues of a traumatised post-Brexit UK in this dark tale of loss, revenge and redemption. Flawed and floored by personal tragedy, DS Solomon Gray is ready to take his place alongside DS Logan McRae, DS Roy Grace and DCI John Luther. Modern jet-black Brit Noir at its best.”
– Tim Baker, CWA shortlisted author of Fever City

Mixing business with family can be a murderous affair …

A body washes up on the beach near Ramsgate in the South of England. For DS Solomon Gray, the case appears cut and dried-a drowning. An immigrant. Another victim to the sea in his desperate attempt to reach the UK.

As the tidewaters recede, two more corpses surface. One appears to be a refugee, stabbed to death. The other, Gray recognises immediately. Regan Armitage: son of business tycoon Jake Armitage. Gray knows this means trouble.

A post mortem reveals ligature marks on Regan’s wrists. Drugs in his bloodstream. All signs indicate murder. Armitage swears to track down his son’s killer and avenge his death.

Gray’s investigation points to a deadly fire ten years prior, and soon Armitage comes under suspicion. But DS Gray knows what it’s like to lose a child and puts aside his distrust of Armitage to help.

How are the dead men connected to each other-and to the infamous fire?

It’s then that Gray gets another tip on the whereabouts of his own missing son, Tom …

BURN THE EVIDENCE is the second book in a series featuring Detective Sergeant Solomon Gray. The crime series is perfect for fans of Ian Rankin, Stuart MacBride, and Peter James.

About the Author
Keith Nixon is a British born writer of crime and historical fiction novels. Originally he trained as a chemist, but Keith is now in a senior sales role for a high-tech business. Keith currently lives with his family in the North West of England.



Burn the evidence is the followup to Dig Two Graves. We are back with DS Gray.. he’s flawed to the max but he’s good at what he does.

Gray has one hell of a back story which continues to unravel during this book. He can’t let go of the past, his son went missing years ago and when potential new information surfaces he can’t focus on the job at hand. That job being a triple murder.

When 3 bodies are given up by the sea Gray is trust into the case but are the bodies connected and if so how?

Something I really enjoy about the book is the back and forth from past to present..slowly giving the reader the full picture. If I’m honest it’s this type of writing that really grips me with a crime fiction book..the suspense, I want to put the pieces together just like Gray does.

Keith Nixon has written a brilliant follow-up book which combines multiple plots and twists that converge to keep you hooked. The author even dropped a bombshell which will no doubt be explored during the next instalment… it’s endings like this that keep me coming back to an author. I’m left with a  thirst that can only be quenched by reading the next installment as soon as it is released…other books can be put on hold but after an ending like that how could the next installment not be put on my most anticipated releases list!

This is what crime fiction should be for me. We have a flawed lead, (let’s face it no one is perfect, we just do the best we can) with a mix of personal and work issues to deal with. The cases develop at a good pace which keep me engaged and I must certainly want more. Chapter length was perfect, development felt natural rather than forced and there’s plenty of twists and turns to keep a real crime junkie happy also.

I’ve read a lot of Keith’s books and this is certainly a credit to his increasing collection of works and I hope there’s plenty more to follow.

Top notch work.

I would be lying if I didn’t say admit I received a copy of the book from NetGalley but I only did that so I could have a review up quickly, which I’m very grateful for, but if you take a look at Amazon you’ll now see that “verified purchase” next to my name 🙂

To find out more head to Goodreads or Amazon.


9 thoughts on “Burn the Evidence: (The Detective Solomon Gray Series Book 2) by Keith Nixon – Review

  1. Bookstooge

    “Modern jet-black Brit Noir”

    What does that even mean?

    Sounds like you had a good time reading this. Did you get the ng version so you could read it and review it early, and then buy it as soon as it became available? Since your review just came up, I’m wondering how much of a timelag there was? Or was this one of those “can’t publish review until X date” kind of things?

    Lots of questions, I know. Thank you for being patient 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Bairdy1985 Post author

      Hey, sorry for the late reply.. I didnt get any notification 😦 I got a review copy off NetGalley.. first ever time I’ve used it, I’m not a fan of NetGalley if I’m honest. So i had the book around 3 weeks before it came out. To be fully honest I actaully read a really early copy of the book thanks to the author who likes what I do so I can honestly say his work is top notch.

      Not sure what modern jet black brit noir really means to the author or publisher but for me I see the book as a modern day detective novel, dark, girtty, stripped back..nothing fancy just good old detective work. Let me know If you read the book. Would love to know what you make of it.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Bookstooge

        No worries David, it seems to happen a lot on WP. Sometimes I think their notification system isn’t really up to snuff.

        To be honest, there is very little chance of me ever reading this, which was the main impetus in asking what that term meant 😀


      2. Bookstooge

        My tbr, which is a real tbr, not a catchall of books I “might” read, is full up for 2 years. And so I have to limit myself to things I really want to read. It’s helping my annual star rating to go up though, so I know I’m picking slightly better books 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Bairdy1985 Post author

        I know what you mean. I have two reading lists..one I want to read and one I’ve commented to reading. I’ve got enough books to last me at least 5 years. This year I’m focusing on books I want to read rather than solely review requests. I feel I’m missing out on books I actually want to read so this year i’m going to say no a lot more

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Bairdy1985 Post author

        Too right. It’s an addiction..I buy a lot of books.. charity shops, A local charity site my mam supports, Amazon..I buy way more than I can read but I can’t stop myself. The wife hates it..I’ve even got rid of a load of dvds just so I had another shelf for books ha

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s