BLOG TOUR – The Lost Boy of Bologna by Francesca Scanacapra

Today I’m kicking off the blog tour for The Lost Boy of Bologna by Francesca Scanacapra!

Keeping reading too! If you like the sound of the book there’s a chance to win a copy! UK Only.

Here’s the blurb!

Bologna, 1929. A newborn baby boy is abandoned by his desperate unmarried mother, who believes he is dead and that she is to blame. Heartbroken, she leaves her child, accepting that her actions will haunt her for the rest of her days. But unbeknown to her, the kindness of a stranger means the starving baby survives. And so begins the extraordinary life of Rinaldo Scamorza

Following several years in an orphanage, where Rinaldo still holds onto the hope that his mother will come to claim him, he is entrusted to a heartless foster-mother who treats her charges as nothing more than financial opportunities. Yet amidst the cruelty and violence of this loveless environment Rinaldo meets fellow orphan, Evelina, and the two children create a bond which they believe will never be broken. 

Rinaldo holds tight to the few people who show him love, and he becomes a loyal, intelligent and kind boy. But his life is shattered when aged barely 13, Evelina is sold into prostitution by their foster-mother. 

As he grows up and becomes more resourceful, he finds work as an errand boy in a brothel, where he encounters Evelina once again. But in his efforts to help her escape her life of exploitation, another dark misfortune pulls them apart and she disappears. 

When at last Italy begins to emerge from the shadows of World War II and Bologna’s economy recovers, Rinaldo uses his intimate knowledge of the city to change his life for the better. But through everything, the successes and the moments of loneliness and misery, the women he yearns to see again – Evelina and his mother – are always on his mind…

Fans of Angela Petch, Helen Fripp, Dinah Jeffries, Rhys Bowen and Louise Douglas will adore this captivating historical novel.

Review

A desperate mother struggles to support her new-born baby, with little money and with the babe sickly she’s in a very bad place. When the baby turns blue the new mother fears the worst! When there’s no signs of life the mother does what she feels best.. the last resort.. she leaves the baby with everything she has, including a family earring in the hope it can be used the pay to give the baby the funeral he deserves.

Little does the new mother know the baby survives, although still a little sickly. The baby is named Rinaldo Scamorza.

Rinaldo spends years in the orphanage waiting for his mothers return, he never gives up hope, but no one is looking for him.

Eventually after a tough start to life he’s set to leave the orphanage. Little does he know his hardships are just beginning. The only good thing in his life is Evelina, she’s like a big sister to him but as a pretty girl her life’s not going to be easy either.

Evelina and Rinaldo learn the hard way that there are some very bad people in life. Some of the events are quite difficult to read as they cause very personal traumas to the characters.

As we fast forward through Rinaldo’s life I was just waiting, desperate to see where he would end up. Little did I know his whole world is going to be fractured again.. but will the latest events be good or bad? I’ll let you find out 😊

I loved the plot of this one, when you start this, you’re in it for the long haul as it’s all about that build up, the history. The pace was prefect, but I can’t lie, I powered through those last 3 – 4 chapters. You know something is coming, you know how you want it to play out, but will it?

As much as some of the events are harrowing, the word best to describe this book is “Hope”.  Rinaldo never gives up… he never stops thinking about his mother and Evelina.

I can’t stress enough how much I loved the flow, the connections built with the characters. It meant there were many times I felt warm and fuzzy as events linked to Rinaldo and played out beautifully, full of emotion.. Wow

I spectacular 5* which I’d highly recommend

To find out more head to Goodreads or Amazon.

My thanks go to the author, publisher and Rachel @rararesources for having me on the tour. I received a copy of the book in our to take part in the tour but have already added this to my purchased list 🙂 Too good not to buy!

Why not follow the tour?

Author Bio –

Francesca Scanacapra was born in Italy to an English mother and Italian father, and her early childhood was spent in Bologna, the city whose rich history has been the inspiration for the Bologna Chronicles series of novels. Francesca’s adult life has been somewhat nomadic with periods spent living in Italy, England, France, Senegal and Spain. In 2021 she returned to her native country and back to her earliest roots to pursue her writing career full time. She now resides permanently in rural Lombardy in the house built by her great-grandfather which was the inspiration for her Paradiso Novels.

Social Media Links –

Twitter https://twitter.com/FrancescaScana2

Insta @francescascana2

Giveaway!!!

Click here to enter the giveaway to Win 5 x PB copies of The Lost Boy of Bologna (Open to UK Only)

*Terms and Conditions –UK entries welcome.  Please enter using the Rafflecopter box below.  The winner will be selected at random via Rafflecopter from all valid entries and will be notified by Twitter and/or email. If no response is received within 7 days then Rachel’s Random Resources reserves the right to select an alternative winner. Open to all entrants aged 18 or over.  Any personal data given as part of the competition entry is used for this purpose only and will not be shared with third parties, with the exception of the winners’ information. This will passed to the giveaway organiser and used only for fulfilment of the prize, after which time Rachel’s Random Resources will delete the data.  I am not responsible for despatch or delivery of the prize.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s